The six spectacular gardens battling out for Britain’s ‘Garden of the Year’

Six beautiful gardens from across the country compete for the title of Best Historic Home Garden (HH) 2023.

Established in 1984, voting for the award is open until August 31 – and you can vote on the Historic Houses website. The winner will be present at the general meeting of the organization on November 14th.

The six finalists are as follows:

Blair Castle in Perthshire

Blair Castle Gardens, Perthshire.

Hergest Croft Gardens in Herefordshire

Hergest Croft Gardens in Kington.

Dunvegan Castle on the Isle of Skye

Round pool with a flower bed in the garden of Dunvegan Castle.

The walled garden of Glenarm Castle in County Antrim

Castle Glenarm. Picture: Historic houses

Mount Stewart on the Isle of Bute

Mount Stewart belongs to the Stewarts of Bute.

Walled Scampston Garden in North Yorkshire

Scampston walled garden. Picture: Historic houses

In addition to the overall winner, HH will offer a second, outright award to a garden that it believes “embodies excellence on a smaller scale, whether in area, staff, or access, and therefore has less power to influence the popular poll”; this would be known as the Judge’s Choice award.

“The Garden of the Year Awards are a great opportunity to recognize and celebrate the beauty and quality of independent historic gardens,” says Ursula Cholmeli, Chair of the HH Horticulture Committee. “The hard work put into maintaining and developing these gardens is undeniable and it is so important that not only the owners, but also the gardeners and teams of volunteers who put in their time and efforts day by day to preserve the independent heritage are celebrated. .

Must Read:  Why does Kew Gardens have a giant pagoda?

“These gardens are some of the finest in the country and we hope you enjoy visiting some of them and voting for your favorite.”

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *